Friday, April 12, 2019

What is samadhi

Samadhi :

               In Maharshi Patanjali Yogadarshan, Samadhi is the eighth and the last step and it is the third step in the Antrang yoga. The subject of Dharana, Dhyan and Samadhi is one and the same, but the degree of concentration with the subject goes on increasing.

               When the Meditator and meditation both get engrossed in the aim, samadhi is realized. Then only the aim is experienced in Samadhi.

               That is to say Samadhi is fulfilled as a result of continuous and constant meditation and mastery there in i.e. the Sadhaka automatically gets absorbed in samadhi.
yoga vichar

Definitions of Samadhi :

According to Maharshi Patanjali

  1. When the Meditation becomes enlightened in the form of aim only and free its own self, it is called samadhi i.e. Meditation becomes similar to the aim and free from the process of meditation means Samadhi.
  2. Meditation, its excellence and mature stage means Samadhi.
  3. According to Maharshi Yagnyavalka, the stage of oneness of the individual soul and the God is Samadhi.
  4. Samadhi means restraint from tendencies of the mind.
  5. When in meditation only the aim is experienced and the consciousness of one's own form becomes zero, that stage is called samadhi.
  6. It is said in Hath - yoga Pradeepika that the salt dissolved in water is in the water itself, even then it does not appear in the form of salt, as it has become one with water. only water appears. in the same way in the stage of Samadhi, meditation and meditator have become one and identical with the aim. Hence there is only presence of aim.
Thus in samadhi the mind controlled from its tendencies attains equality i.e. there remains no existence of the mind. in other words in the stage of samadhi, the 'mind' becomes 'no-mind'.

The mind gets absorbed. there is complete concentration in the stage of meditation, even then the sadhaka is conscious about his own natural stage. but in samadhi, there is only the feeling of existence of mind. the consciousness of natural existence is removed. the yogi experiences himself only in the form of spirit, which is the pure and true form of the atman. at last the feeling of non-duality of the Atma in Paramatma manifests and the yogi gets completely absorbed in it i.e. he attains liberation pr moksha. 

In samadhi the aim, the meditator and the meditation become one i.e. direct experience of Brahma becomes possible. He becomes free from the bondage of place and time. it is called samadhi in which the aim alone is awakened.

The mind becomes steady for twelve days. it is called samadhi.

Type of Samadhi :

Samadhi is mainly three types :
  1. Sabeej Samadhi : In this samdhi the subject of the aim is present.Sadhaka enters in the region of pragnya beyond the mind. Hence it is called sampragnyat samadhi.
  2. Nirbeej Samadhi : When the dependence of Aim subject also drops down because of continuous practice of sabeej samadhi along with aim-subject and there is only the experience of one's own pure form then nirbeej samadhi is accomplished
  3. DharmaMedha Samadhi : The sadhaka gains knowledge of deep mysteries in the mind through continous practice of Sabeej and nirbeej samadhi. He who is free from desire of this knowledge also attains vivekbuddhi awakened and with the strength of knowledge of vivekbuddhi the sadhaka accomplishes DharmaMedha samadhi.
With fulfilment of DharmaMedha Samadhi the sadhaka becomes free form panch clash viz. Avidya, Existence, likes and dislikes and firm attachment are destroyed. and the actions also get destroyed with the fulfilment of DharmaMedha samadhi pains and actions end.

No comments:

Post a Comment